MOVING FORWARD

KeepCalmMove Forward

A few months ago I hired a company to take care of my back yard maintenance.  They assured me they would mow the small lawn, trim the bushes, and take care of any weeds 2x per month.  A few weeks went by and one of my climbing bushes begin to fade. This plant was very healthy and showed no signs of illness or reason to think it was declining.  I inquired with the foreman thinking they had accidentally sprayed it with weed killer which damaged the plant.

He pressed that this was not the case however the climber plant died and eventually had to be removed.  Of course I was not happy!

Other than seek replacement and responsibility from the service there wasn’t much I could do. I expressed my dissatisfaction to the owner of the service but they took no responsibility to the demise of my plant.  Even suggesting it may come back. I highly doubted but we let it be for a while to see.  During the course of this, I surprised myself by accepting the outcome rather than fight the circumstance.

A few weeks afterwards, I purchased a replacement plant. I was tired of looking at the dying plant thinking it might come back and had them remove it. The next day, I spread the soil in the area and made room for the new climbing plant with it’s beautiful trumpet-like red flowers highlighting the bright almond shaped green leaves.  This brought a newness to the space.  How lovely the original climber was, its successor is just as grand.

On the flip side, I could have fought the company to replace and replant or leave them altogether.  I chose to keep calm and move forward. Soon afterwards the original foreman was replaced.

So what did I learn from this?  I learned to let it go even when I felt validated to take a stand.  I realized taking a stand would require that I stay in the emotional state of the situation.  By letting it pass on I freed myself of the agony, fight, and bother.

The magnitude of the circumstance doesn’t matter.  What matters is the practice of moving forward releasing myself to return to my peaceful state.  This is a true departure of my past where I felt that certain situations required me to take a stand.  But what are we doing when we are taking a stand? Not moving forward. What I didn’t realize that in the stand I’m not at peace.

Once I allowed myself to not be distracted by the comings and goings of the happenings I found a consistent flow of peaceful energy regardless of the circumstances – good, bad, or indifferent.

I became the source of my being.  I have the choice to be in well or ill being. Is it that simple? Could be – I’m on the journey to test the theory by keeping calm and moving forward!


In all things – Keep Calm and Move Forward

K.L de Ville
Don’t Try ~ Just Do

6 thoughts on “MOVING FORWARD

  1. Ohhh, loved this post! Will you teach me how to do this PLEASE! I’ve tried to be calmer driving (as a small start), but somehow it’s more difficult when dealing with people. 🙂 Hope all is well with you and yours! Hugs & love, /)/) (-.-) Sheri

    Date: Wed, 15 Oct 2014 09:58:39 +0000 To: sherionthego@hotmail.com

    Like

  2. Thanks for your words. This read spoke to me and current situations at work. You know, the usual two-faced, playing both ends against the middle stuff. Folks you confide in, thinking they are your friend when they are just getting ammo to use against you.But I will now keep calm and Move Forward! Thanks girlfriend.Love ya much… cp

    Date: Wed, 15 Oct 2014 09:58:39 +0000 To: cpatter44@hotmail.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

